

Promoting excellence in Oral Surgery through education, training and research for better patient care at: The Royal College of Surgeons Nicolson Street Edinburgh EH8 9DW

T: +44 (0)131 527 1600 F: +44 (0)131 557 6406 E: baos@rcsed.ac.uk

Mr Andrew Edwards Chairman, Tri-Collegiate Specialty Membership Examinations Executive (TSMEE) Dean Elect of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons Glasgow 232 - 242 St Vincent Street Glasgow G2 5RJ

9th January 2019

Dear Mr Edwards

Re: Regulations of eligibility to sit the Tri-collegiate Membership in Oral Surgery examination

We write further to your letter of 7th December 2018 in which you communicated the decision of the Tri Collegiate Board to leave the eligibility criteria to sit the MOral Surg examination unchanged.

I'm sure the Board must appreciate how frustrating this news is to a large number of our membership – SAS grades who are unable to progress their careers without being able to objectively demonstrate their knowledge via a nationally accredited examination.

BAOS would be most grateful if the Tri Collegiate board would kindly provide some clarification as to how and why this decision was reached. Furthermore, we would very much appreciate an explanation as to why the Board feels it necessary to treat some Dental Specialities differently to others with regard to access to sitting their specialist examinations by portfolio entry (i.e. the removal of section 4.4 in the regulations for some Specialities but not for others).

Many thanks.

Yours sincerely

alucia them.

Mrs Rebecca Hierons President of BAOS

Pura Blackerk

Mrs Pippa Blacklock BAOS Education Committee



Promoting excellence in Oral Surgery through education, training and research for better patient care at: The Royal College of Surgeons Nicolson Street Edinburgh EH8 9DW

T: +44 (0)131 527 1600 F: +44 (0)131 557 6406 E: baos@rcsed.ac.uk

Cc: Mrs Maire Morton Chair, Tri-Collegiate Membership Examination Board for Oral Surgery Prof Michael Escudier, Chair of the Senate of Dental Specialties Mr Peter Dyer, Chair of CCHDS Dr Alan Mighell, Chair of ABSTD Dr David Felix, Chair of COPDEND Dr Christine Goodall, Chair of Oral Surgery SAC Dr John Rowson, Chair of Oral Surgery SAB Prof Justin Durham, President of ABAOMS Mr Patrick Magennis, Chair of BAOMS Ms Victoria Dobie, Chair of SASLC, RCS Edinburgh Prof Michael Escudier, Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery, RCS England Prof Fraser McDonald, Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery, RCS Glasgow Dr John Marley, Dean of the Faculty of Dental Surgery, RCS Ireland